Eric A. Joseph  Eric A. Joseph photo         

contact information

Senior Manager, Master Inventor and Principal Research Staff Member, Advanced Materials and Unit Process Technology
Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY USA


Professional Associations

Professional Associations:  American Vacuum Society  |  IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society  |  Materials Research Society (MRS)


ERIC A. JOSEPH is a Principal Research Staff Member, Master Inventor and Senior Manager of the Advanced Materials and Unit Process Technology Group at the IBM T. J. Watson Research Center in Yorktown Heights, NY.  He received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in Physics from the State University of New York at Albany in 1998 and 2000, respectively, and received his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Texas at Dallas (UTD) in 2005.  He subsequently joined IBM Research where he focused on the development of patterning solutions for perovskite, chalcogenide and ferromagnetic materials for non-volatile memory applications such as RRAM, PCRAM and MRAM.  From 2012 to 2015, he managed the Advanced Plasma Processing Group leading research and development efforts in multiple exploratory areas ranging from patterning advanced materials and evaluating aggressive scaling of CMOS devices as well as exploring new process capabilities such as novel gas chemistries and atomic layer etching.  Currently, he is responsible for defining and delivering strategy and capability for advanced materials and unit process technologies including chemical mechanical planarization, advanced electrochemistry and cleans, and thin film deposition and etch process technology for IBM's MRL prototyping facility.  He is an author or co-author of multiple technical papers, has over 70 patents pending, was the chair of the first AVS-PSTD Atomic Layer Etch Workshop, was a director on the AVS Board of Directors, was the former Program Chair for 65th AVS International Symposium in Long Beach, CA and is now the Atomic Scale Focus Topic Champion for the AVS International Symposium and a member of the Atomic Layer Etching Workshop Steering committee.