Christophe P. Rossel  Christophe P. Rossel photo         

contact information

Emeritus Research Staff Member
Zurich Research Laboratory, Zurich, Switzerland



Christophe Rossel (Swiss, born in Neuchâtel in 1952) studied physics at the University of Neuchâtel and obtained his PhD in Solid State Physics in 1981 at the University of Geneva

with a thesis on critical current densities in Chevrel phase superconductors.

He took post doctoral fellow positions in Geneva, working on magnetic-field-induced superconductivity (Jaccarino-Peter effect), and at the University of California, San Diego (UCSD), where he became associate research scientist and lecturer (1983-87). His research activity focused there on the properties of heavy electron superconductors.

In 1987, he joined the IBM Research - Zurich Laboratory in Rüschlikon as a Research Staff Member. After some work on resonant tunneling in III-V heterostructures, he focused his efforts essentially on high-temperature superconductors and later on the investigation and integration of high permittivity metal oxides in high-performance electronic devices.

His fields of expertise in experimental condensed matter physics are superconductivity and magnetism, transport and tunneling spectroscopy in metals and semiconductors. His more recent research on advanced functional materials has been on switching phenomena in oxide-based nonvolatile memories, on the characterization of high-k dielectrics and metal gates for CMOS technology. His group had long-time expertise on the growth of thin films of oxides, in particular perovskites, by molecular beam epitaxy (MBE) and their integration in MOSFET transistors with high mobility channel materials (Ge, III-V) for high performance logic electronics. Another field of interest is the growth and study of lead free piezoelectric films for acoustic resonators (RF filters), optical modulators and nanoswitches for logic and memory applications.

Author of about 200 scientific articles and 7 patents, C. Rossel is the recipient of an IBM Research Division Award (1988), Outstanding Technical Achievement Award (1997) for his work on Torque magnetometry and IBM Technical Accomplishment (2013 and 2016) for Fundamental demonstration of co-integrated high mobility channel FinFETs for next generation CMOS. His group was also recognized with the CS Industry Innovation Award 2017 for Hybrid InGaAs/SiGe CMOS circuits. In 2018 he was again co-recipient of an IBM Research Division Award for research work on Carbon-based Memory. During his studies he received also two education and research grants from the Swiss National Science Foundation.

In his various functions at IBM he supervised bachelor, master and PhD students, as well as postdoctoral fellows. Member of several advisory and editorial boards (e.g., New Journal of Physics, Europhysics News) he acted also as chair/vice-chair of national and international conferences and workshops. He contributed as key investigator and partner in different national or international R&D projects within the EU FP7-ICT programs, or the Swiss and CTI Entrepreneurship programs. He is retired from IBM Research –Zurich since 2014, but remains affiliated with the status of emeritus RSM.

He has a long time experience with learned societies and scientific affairs at national and international level. He was Executive Secretary of the European Physical Society (EPS) between 1999 and 2005, president of the Swiss Physical Society (SPS) from 2008 to 2012, president-elect of the European Physical Society in 2014, and its president between 2015 and 2017.

He is member (since 2012) and chair (since 2014) of the Board of Directors of EPL (former Europhysics Letters), member of the EPS Technology Group (since 2001), of the Energy Group (since 2007) and of the EPS Forum Physics and Society (since 2006). He was also member of the steering committee of the International Year of Physics in 2005. He is Fellow of the Institute of Physics (IOP FInstP) since 1999 and of the EPS since 2011. In 2015 he was elected member of the Swiss Academy of Technical Sciences SATW. Since May 2016 he is member of the High-Level Advisory Group 'Open Science Policy Platform' (OSPP) established by the Directorate-General for Research and Innovation of the European Commission in Brussels. Since January 2018 he became member of the Executive Board of the Swiss Academy of Sciences SCNAT, with focus on the platform MAP (mathematics, astronomy and physics). In 2018 he was invited visiting scientist at the Donostia International Physics Center (DIPC) in San Sebastian (SP).


Details about publications and citations can be found under and